Freedom of the City award

We have three awards that recognise the outstanding contribution of locals who have distinguished themselves with their service to the community.

  1. Freeman or Freewoman of the City - this award recognises the outstanding contribution made to the community by an individual. All nominees have given extensive and distinguished service, in a largely voluntary capacity to local organisations and community groups.
  2. Key to the City - this is a single event award which acknowledges the contribution of an individual, group or organisation for an outstanding achievement in sport, entertainment or humanitarian work at a national or international level.
  3. Freedom of Entry to the City - this award reflects a special relationship between a local emergency services unit or an Australian Defence Force unit and the local community.

Our award recipients

The following people have received Freedom of the City Awards.

  • Mr William (Bill) Howard Larkin, OAM - Freeman of the City 2011
  • No. 401 Squadron, Australian Air Force Cadets - Freedom of the City 2001
  • The Honourable Neil Anthony Brown, QC, - Freeman of the City 1991
  • Mr Barry Anthony Jones - Freeman of the City 1990
  • Mr Leslie John Cameron - Freeman of the City 1990
  • Mr Irvine Heber Green, OAM - Key to the City 1988
  • Sir Raymond William Garrett, AFC, AEA - Freeman of the City 1987

Please note award recipients include those made by the Manningham Council's predecessor, the City of Doncaster and Templestowe.


Key dates

You can make a nomination anytime.

How to nominate an outstanding person for an award

If you’d like to nominate someone for Freeman or Freewoman of the City, Key to the City or the Freedom of Entry to the City, take a look at the Freedom of the City Policy before nominating an individual or group.

The policy will outline the eligibility criteria and nomination process for each award.

  • Freedom of the City Policy
    Freedom of the City Policy
    155.88 KB